Dodge Durango
 Service Manual
Ignition System » Description and operation
Ignition system


Two different ignition systems are used. One type of system is for the 5.2L/5.9L V-8 engine. The other is for the 4.7L V-8 engine.

The ignition systems used on 5.2L/5.9L V-8 engines are basically identical using a conventional distributor and remotely mounted coil. The 4.7L V-8 engine does not use a distributor and has 8 separate coils.


The ignition system is controlled by the Powertrain Control Module (PCM) on all engines.

The ignition system consists of:

  • Spark Plugs
  • Ignition Coil(s)
  • Secondary Ignition Cables (5.2L/5.9L engines)
  • Distributor (contains rotor and camshaft position sensor) (5.2L/5.9L engines)
  • Powertrain Control Module (PCM)
  • Crankshaft Position and Camshaft Position Sensors
  • The MAP, TPS, IAC and ECT also have an effect on the control of the ignition system.
    More about «Description and operation»:

    Ignition system

    Distributor-5.2L/5.9L v-8 engine

    Spark plugs

    Spark plug cables

    Ignition coil (except 4.7L engine)

    Ignition coil-4.7L engine

    Crankshaft position sensor-5.2/5.9L v-8 engine

    Crankshaft position sensor-4.7L engine

    Camshaft position sensor

    Camshaft position sensor-4.7L engine

    Ignition switch and key lock cylinder

    Dodge Durango Service Manual / Ignition System / Description and operation / Ignition system

    Dodge Durango Service Manual


    © 2017-2023 Copyright